RSS

The adventures of making a fluffy skirt ★ The making of Napoleon (Eiyuu Senki) ★ Part 1

25 Mar

Edit: I’ve recently created a video tutorial going through this process, if you’re interested it can be watched here!

Hello everyone~ I’m getting an early start on my AnimeNEXT cosplay and thought I would share some of it with you guys. Also, my “The world god only knows” uniform part 2 will be up VERY soon. Expect it in the next week!

Anyway, meet Napoleon:

Napoleon’s skirt is ridiculous in the poofyness and ruffle department, seriously it’s insane. So right away I knew that I would need tons of material, and some sort of stiffening for the hem. Luckily I already had several yards of white bridal satin laying around, then the other day I picked up 12 yards of horsehair braid, which meant I had everything I needed to get to work.

Step one was drafting a quick circle skirt pattern, I think everyone has seen these before, but this is what mine looked like. Please excuse my terrible handwriting.

Next step was cutting them all out, in total I cut out 4 circle skirts.

 

Then I sewed them all together. At this point they didn’t look much like a skirt, but they made a lovely scarf. For reference of how much material was here, I’m around 5’ 10”.

Then came the pinning. Oh god, the pinning. The hem was 12 yards, which means it tookages to pin it all, and to make things worse, my bobbin ran out half way through without me realizing, which meant I had to do even more pinning then I had originally planned.

And for those curious, this is what the horsehair braid looks like.

After it was all hemmed and had the horsehair braid added you could see the ruffles forming. Modeled once again, as the lovely scarf that it was.

Since a corset/vest is worn over my waist, I couldn’t have the ruffles extending all the way up. So I made up a waistband, it’s made of three panels and has interfacing in all of them. Then I went ahead and lined it for good measure. This is also where I gathered my “scarf” down into 40 inches of ruffles.

 

Then I sewed them together, and looky here, It’s pretty much done! I just need to tack down some of the ruffles and add a zipper. But that should be very easy.

 

Edit: 5/5/12 A few updates on this skirt!

I added a petticoat for more “oomf”

And then I went through and sewed certain parts down, giving it all a more uniform look.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2012 in Cosplay, The Making Of

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “The adventures of making a fluffy skirt ★ The making of Napoleon (Eiyuu Senki) ★ Part 1

  1. Anmanda

    March 25, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    I know the frustration of pinning insane amounts of fabric haha, I had to pin ruffles to a 15.5 yards piece of fabric when making a Will of Abyss cosplay and it took forever.
    I’m totally looking forward to seeing this cosplay completed though, she looks absolutely cute and you have such a good start already, I bet you’re going to look gorgeous ^^

     
    • doxiequeen1

      March 25, 2012 at 4:27 pm

      Oh my, that is a lot! But if I recall correctly that costume came out fabulously. For this one I had to hem it…then sew the horsehair braid in. So it ended up being 24 yards of pinning, blah!

      Thank you very much! Yeah, I’m in love with the design. I hope it all works out in the end.

       
  2. halu

    March 26, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    That skirt is beautiful.🙂 I can’t wait to see your finished outfit, doxie.

     
  3. C

    June 11, 2013 at 1:30 am

    Quick question: How did you sew the circle skirts together? I’ve been confused on that for a while unfortunately, and couldn’t really find the answer anywhere.

     
    • Stevie

      November 15, 2016 at 3:18 pm

      im late by a few year but im still gonna post it for anyone else that needs it but you cut a slit all the way up the side of each circle skirt then sew one end to he end of another so in the end it looks like a spiral then you ruffle it and sew the last ends together

       
  4. Sarah

    September 2, 2013 at 4:43 pm

    Hello! Your skirt looks so lovely! I was wondering what could I do if I wanted a full circle skirt but with a number of specific pleats in it?

    Thank you and keep it up!!

     
  5. Karma

    January 26, 2014 at 8:39 am

    Thank you so much for this!! I’m gonna use it to make a lolita skirt! ^~^

     
  6. Trang

    February 22, 2014 at 4:27 am

    Hi. Thanks for making this tutorial. I was wondering about the pattern paper of the circle skirt. what kind of circle skirt did you make? is it a 3/4 or a full circle skirt?

     
  7. dr.skittles

    March 8, 2014 at 10:23 am

    How did you sew the four skirts together? I just cant figure that out…

     
    • Magpie M

      March 24, 2014 at 11:08 pm

      each piece looks like an “O” with a slit (makes a C kind of) then you sew end to end.

       
  8. ester

    November 7, 2014 at 3:29 pm

    muito shool

     
  9. Gavriela

    July 28, 2015 at 10:58 pm

    That skirt is really puffy! I’m a novice at sewing, but this post had me motivated to start on my first costume from a pattern! I wanted to experiment and try making the skirt like you did here, I even locked down some tutorials on how to sew in horsehair braid. I know this post may be old, but how exactly did you sew the circle skirt pieces together? It looks like one very long skirt, like you sewed them together in the same vertical orientation. Thank you! ^^

     
  10. Haley

    November 12, 2015 at 5:11 pm

    Hello, thank you so much for sharing your tutorials, where do you usually buy your horsebraid? Is it stiff? Or normal?

     
  11. Naomi Paola

    June 25, 2016 at 7:40 pm

    que bello!!
    como no haces un tutorial explicativo
    para aprender

     

Leave a Reply

 
