RSS

The Making of ‘Royal Milk Tea’ – Sakizou Artwork – Part 6 Finishing Touches

20 Feb

Here is the very last the-making-of post about Royal Milk Tea. I’m ridiculously happy to call this costume complete, but i’m also a bit sad that I can’t fuss over it any longer. This was such a big detailed project for me and in the past three months I’ve become used to it being there, something to turn to when I get angry at other costumes. It’ll be hard to start something new, though I do have a few ideas!

If you are curious about the previous posts relating to this costume, they can be read below.

The Making of ‘Royal Milk Tea’ – Part 1 Conquering the Bustle

The making of ‘Royal Milk tea’ – Part 2  Starting the Sleeves & Skirt

The Making of ‘Royal Milk Tea’ –  Part 3Socks & Stockings

The making of ‘Royal Milk Tea’ – Part 4 – The Corset’

The Making of ‘Royal Milk Tea’ – Part 5 – Chokers, Cameos & Corsets

Just a heads up, this is the shortest and perhaps most photo heavy post relating to this costume. There really wasn’t that much left to do.

….

My first order of business was creating a giant, striped, bow. The back of this costume isn’t super visible, but there is definitely some striped bow like stuff going on back there. Stripes are not the most fun thing to make, especially with silk taffeta (so many puckers), but I managed.

DSC_8432

I ironed my seams open and eventually got this to a point where I was pleased with it.

IMGP0465

Then I sewed my newly-made-striped-material onto quilt batting, so the bow would be super puffy.

IMGP0466

I folded this  in half, sewed a seam up the back, and ironed it flat. Then I sewed some ribbon scraps and stuff together to create a middle piece for the bow.

DSC_8440

 I also sewed a cameo on, because they are everywhere.

DSC_8442

Speaking of cameos! Last time I posted about this I was busy killing brain cells by gluing rhinestones onto them. This process continued for a while until I had several dozen complete. Here was one group of them.

DSC_8589

The majority of the cameos ended up getting sewn onto my bustle/skirt. I also purchased a gold rhinestone chain which was cut into 9″ lengths and sewn between the cameos.

The bustle closes with a buckle – something I struggled with when I attempted to wear it this past weekend. I underestimated how heavy it was, I thought it would lay over my hips and stay up just fine – it didn’t. At all. It literally fell off of me and was a big mess.

But that’s a story for another day.

DSC_8882

Little bows are glued onto each cameo, these were purchased in NYC for ten cents a piece.

DSC_887455

And with that my bustle was pretty much done, though I did go through and hand sew on a few more strips of trim and two five inch bows.

I moved onto the sleeves! All the sleeves really needed were ruffles.

So I sewed on a layer of ruffles.

DSC_9091

But the layer looked lonely so I sewed on another.

DSC_9092

I liked how the two layers looked, so the sleeves got sewed (by hand) onto the corset.

DSC_9096

When I put that on with my bustle…

tumblr1

tumblr12

I changed a few things after these were taken, like adding a modesty panel to the corset and re-stuffing the right sleeve. But for the most part, I was really happy with how it looked.

Moving onto the headpiece/teapot! This was the one part of this costume that I didn’t make. My dad actually sculpted it out of florists green foam and covered it in wallpaper paste, which is pretty incredible. The wallpaper paste was sanded, primed, and spray painted ivory.

DSC_8833

DSC_8838

I decorated it with puff paint, fabric scraps, pearls and rhinestones.

DSC_8887

The headpiece (or lack there of) is actually unfinished, so is the wig. They were made last minute and I would like to fix them for the future.

The wig was purchased from cosplaywig, then cut apart, stubbed, and styled by me.

IMGP0137

WIG STUFF

….

And with that complete, Royal Milk Tea was ready for Otakon!

Still waiting to see photoshoot pictures, but here is a very nice hall shot by Eminence Rain.

IMGP4975

Thank you all for reading! I hope you enjoyed reading about this project as much as I enjoyed making it. If you have any questions, i’m sure I would be happy to answer them.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2013 in Cosplay, The Making Of

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 responses to “The Making of ‘Royal Milk Tea’ – Sakizou Artwork – Part 6 Finishing Touches

  1. lepikachao

    February 20, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    soooo cute!!!! Omg you pull this off like… WOW!

     
  2. Tina S.

    February 28, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    ._______. You are amazing! By chance could you do a video tutorial on some of the techniques you use? Or even know of some that could be helpful. I would like to eventually start an outfit – won’t probably be for another year though. Doesn’t mean I can’t learn though right?🙂

    Any help would be SUPER awesome.

    Thank you!
    Tina S.

     
  3. ElineV

    October 9, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    You’re so talented.. I just recently learned to operate a basic stitch on the sewing machine, and I was a bit proud. But then I see your work… Damn :p how long have you been sewing?

     
    • Angela Clayton

      October 13, 2013 at 11:54 am

      Thank you! I’ve been sewing for a littler over a year and a half, I first started in April 2012.

       
  4. SanctumXIII

    October 27, 2013 at 6:32 am

    I can honestly say that this cosplay just blew me away. It looks jaw dropingly fantastic!

     
  5. Hazel Von

    December 10, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    THIS IS MAD GOOD! Congratulations! you’re so talented

     
  6. NodokaChan1

    September 6, 2014 at 12:02 am

    Hello! I stumbled on your page (I have noticed you are quite popular) and I saw you were a fellow katsucon attendee! I am also a fan of Sakizou’s work and plan on doing her Frau for 2015. If you are doing anything Sakizou I would be honored to grab a pic with you (maybe chat?). I am not as skilled as you are, but I hope to be putting up progress pics soon.
    https://www.facebook.com/NoJuCosplay?fref=ts
    Sorry to have bothered you and for being so bold. Take care!

     
    • Angela Clayton

      September 6, 2014 at 2:42 pm

      Hi! I would probably take you up on that if I was attending, but i’m not longer going to conventions, so I won’t be there.

      I hope you have a good time!

       
      • NodokaChan1

        September 6, 2014 at 3:46 pm

        That’s unfortunate, but thank you. ^_^ I’ll just have to enjoy your progress digitally.

         

Leave a Reply

 
