RSS

The making of a Red and Silver Renaissance Gown Part 2

25 Jun

Here is the second installment of making this pretty little dress I dreamed up! If you haven’t already, you can read part one right here

For once I was very diligent in my photo documentation, so this shall be more of a photoblog then a…erm, blog! 

The next major step was creating the sleeves. In the last dress I made, which was somewhat similar to this, I left the sleeves for last and ended up regretting it. So I dove right in!

I started with a sketch, and some measurements.

DSC_0496

And then It got turned into a pattern

DSC_0489

Once they were cut out the edges were folded to create a finished edge. Between each piece I sewed on a 1/2 strip of my white brocade material. Each of these were originally two inches wide, then folded over, ironed, and sewn into place.

DSC_0491

I ended up sewing them all onto a base of red velvet. This required a lot of yelling at my machine and ripping out, since getting the white right against eachother without any gaps was very tricky!

DSC_0494

I trimmed the velvet on the sides, and pinned it for a fit test which looked like so:

DSC_0493Next up was the silver “poof” portion which was created by pinning trim over an interfaced strip of the white brocade. 

DSC_0567

I sewed (carefully) around the edges of the white, and cut away the extra trim. Then It got sewn, and topstitched down onto the velvet.

DSC_0568

After that the final piece was sewn into place, and I was ready to move onto the largest, and most complicated bit…

DSC_0569

The poofy sleeves of doom….

I really despise making poofy sleeves, so i’m not sure why I continuously put myself through this. But I do, and I will probably continue to do so.

Damn pretty sleeves….

I went ahead and drafted a ginormous poofy sleeve pattern, then I cut it from my maroon satin and fused interfacing onto the back. (The larger the sleeve, the more support it needs.)

DSC_0566

Then I went about creating the tricky part. I called these “sleeve doohickeys” throughout making them but ended up googling the proper term for this post and have discovered they are called “Paned sleeves”…I think.

(I also learned about a sleeve nicknamed “imbecile sleeve” which I might have to make next just for the hell of it)

I started out with 2.5″ interfaced strips!

DSC_0480

Which were cut to the proper-ish length…

DSC_0481

The edges were turned over and sewn down, giving me 1.5″ strips.

DSC_0484

Then I cut out 2 inch wide strips of my brocade, which were folded and ironed into 1″ strips.

DSC_0485These got sewn onto the 1.5″ strips of satin, leaving me with strips (doohickeys) that were each 2.5″ wide. 

DSC_0486But as you can see, the backs look really crappy, and frayed like crazy. So I cut out 1″ strips of double sided fusible web and ironed that onto the backs.

DSC_0495

When the paper was pealed off, I ironed silver ribbon atop it, which sealed the edges up nice and pretty!

DSC_0487

These were then pinned onto the base sleeve I created earlier, and were trimmed again, this time more precisely.

DSC_0488

I sewed around the edges and then gathered it down by hand, I had to use pliers since there were so many layers of material to stitch through!

DSC_0577

This was sewn onto the fitted portion I created earlier, and voila!

DSC_0574

Then I had to make another one…

DSC_0578

All they needed were side seams done up, but being impatient, I pinned them on for a few photos.

DSC_0592

DSC_0595

That’s that! Not to shabby, if I do say so myself. Working on this makes I feel like i’ve progressed a lot, even just in the last few months from when I made my red/gold gown. I’m really proud of it so far, and hopefully it will continue on that way!

Thanks for reading! x

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “The making of a Red and Silver Renaissance Gown Part 2

  1. sewinggoddess

    June 26, 2013 at 4:18 am

    it’s beautiful!

     
  2. Helene Ramsøe

    June 28, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    This is really beautifull! 🙂 i never get anything that i start sewing on done… Haha 😛 Keep the good work up! 🙂

     
  3. Noori

    November 27, 2013 at 2:16 am

    is this for sale ?! it will be awsome if you would sell it to me or i’ll have to make one my self T_T i don’t have time ><!!!!……but it's AWSOEM ^0^

     

Leave a Reply

 
