RSS

Black and Grey Dress – Part Two

17 Mar

Happy Monday everyone! I think most people hate Monday’s, but over the past year they have grown on me. It’s a brand new start to the week, which I find really refreshing – especially when the week prior was pretty crappy.

Last week was a tough one both emotionally and when it came to sewing, so i’m happy to start anew, and i’m hopeful that this week will go much better. I’m also going to attempt to kick my blogging butt into gear and start posting three times a week – I definitely have enough stuff to write about, I just have to, you know, write it.

Here is the second the-making-of post on my Black and Grey dress. A few weeks ago I blogged about making the simple, but fluffy grey dress, and this time I will be talking about the black dress that is worn overtop it.

Fair warning – I was awful about photographing this project, so it’s not as well documented as usual.

(I’ll make up for this next week when I bore you guys with one thousand words and thirty photos on making a set of sleeves – no, i’m not even exaggerating)

This dress is made entirely from black velvet (around 1.5 yards), some cotton broadcloth for lining, five yards of lace (from this store), a bit of grey chiffon, and a few dozen grey pearls.

I started by draping my pattern. This went surprisingly well, I got the shape I wanted right away!

(These pictures make me miss draping, my last few projects haven’t required it and i’m itching to do something that involves this process again very soon)

DSC_3487

When it was taken off the form I made some minor adjustments before cutting the mock up.

DSC_3488

My mock up ended up looking like this, and I made a few rough marks where I thought boning should go.

DSC_3492

When tried on it looked like this – I had to take it in at the shoulders, but it was pretty much perfect!

DSC_3489

I got the bodice pieces cut, then they were reinforced with a really light fusible interfacing so the pieces wouldn’t stretch. Assembly involved a lot of pins to avoid the fabric slipping around – have I mentioned I don’t like velvet?

DSC_3497

I sewed in the lining and stitched around the neckline to make sure it wouldn’t slip around. I pinned everything for a test fitting – which went well – then moved on to the sleeves.

DSC_3505

DSC_3501

I started with a doodle for how I wanted them to look. Since the bodice is strangely pieced, the pattern was much different then any sleeves I had made before.

DSC_3502

I flat drafted it and was pleasantly surprised with the results!

DSC_3503I got them cut out, and sewed on the lace.

DSC_3510

Then they were carefully sewn in place.

DSC_3513And they look just the way I had hoped!

DSC_3514

I made cuffs for the sleeves out of rectangles of folded velvet, then I made little bows out of velvet on top of them. I gathered the sleeve by hand, then sewed them to the cuffs. Of course I was lazy and didn’t take any photos throughout this process, oops!

Then I started on making the trim. The trim was made from a 3/8th of an inch strip of velvet ribbon which has strips of chiffon that were gathered every 3/4 inch tacked on to it.

DSC_4539I sewed my home made trim onto the bodice, then I stitched on 6mm pearls over each ugly gathered bits.

(please ignore the massive amount of lint!)

tumblr_n2jsiyjCsj1qlijqyo1_1280

The last step was making and sewing on the skirt panels. I draped these on my dress form to get the length I wanted, cut them once from the lining and again from velvet.

DSC_3524

Once that was finished I sewed lace onto each panel, attached them to the bodice, added a zipper and the dress was done!

Overall a pretty easy project, but it took ages since I didn’t give it much attention and spent time on other projects instead of this one. I am happy with how it came out, though it’s quite unflattering and not as classy as I would have liked – I think it’s really cute.

DSC_4585

It looks so much better in real life, and even better when worn.  I’m hoping to get some photos of it within the next week, and I’ll share those as soon as I have them.

Thanks for reading!

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Black and Grey Dress – Part Two

  1. Betty Wilson

    March 18, 2014 at 1:42 am

    I am so amazed to find you are so young, and to see how your create these wonderful garments is so enjoyable for me….What sort of career do you plan for yourself… you are so very talented I hope to enjoy your work for some time to come…. I had never heard of Cosplay until I saw a picture of your work… It must be a lot of work and fun!!!!

    On 3/17/14, Angela Clayton’s Cosplay & Costumery

     
  2. Torsha

    March 18, 2014 at 10:58 am

    Amazing once again!

    Could I ask how you learned to sew & do pattern-making? I have an AA in Fashion Design and don’t feel like my skills are anywhere near as good as yours are :(:(:(

     
  3. Shanda

    March 18, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    Wow, VERY nice! You are a natural. I’m sure that velvet was lovely to work with.

     
  4. karebearkoolaid

    March 29, 2014 at 5:13 am

    You are so amazing!
    :O

     

Leave a Reply

 
