RSS

Dewdrop Series – Making a Ivory Dress, Part Three

20 Jun

As promised, here is the final post in about making this dress. But I still have to post about making a crown and a cloak, so the Dewdrop series isn’t over yet!

I have two other blogs about this project, post one is about making the bodice, and post two is about the skirt. If you haven’t already, I would highly suggest reading those first!

I started by drafting my sleeves – I wasn’t that particular about these, so all I did was take a few measurements, then sketch it out. I was pretty confident and decided not to make a mock up

DSC_7071 I cut the sleeves from my damask print, and also cut a few strips of linen which would serve as seam tape.

DSC_7073

 I used them in place of bias tape to make sure none of the edges would fray. After this was done my sleeves were ready to be gathered!

DSC_7074

 I gathered the sleeves down by hand and used loose cartridge pleats to get the look I wanted. You can really see how wimpy these pleats look with lightweight material, now does it make sense why I used quilt batting in the skirt?

DSC_7077

I really wanted to integrate chiffon into these sleeves since the cloak is decorated with two chiffon ruffles, but I didn’t want to add anymore length. After a bit of playing around I decided upward facing ruffles would be really neat.

I created these the way I usually do, by cutting strips of chiffon and folding them in half to get a finished edge.

DSC_7076

DSC_7078

I gathered these down by hand and sewed them onto the edge of each sleeve.

DSC_7079

I really liked how this looked, but they were still missing something important – cuffs. I cut a three inch strip of damask to be the cuff, and a slightly smaller strip of linen to serve as lining.

DSC_7075These were sewn on and my sleeves were just about done!

DSC_7080

DSC_7081

I did up the side seams, sewed them onto the bodice, and tah dah! It looks like a proper dress. Even after altering a few petticoats it doesn’t have the shape I want. Some day I’ll make a pair of pocket hoops to go underneath this, but today is not that day.

DSC_7085

DSC_7089

DSC_7092

So that’s that. I’m quite pleased with it, aside from the skirt shape it came out just as I’d hoped.

Thanks for reading!

 
 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Dewdrop Series – Making a Ivory Dress, Part Three

  1. acuera

    June 20, 2014 at 4:21 pm

    Wow this dress looks amazing! Where do you get that fabric?

     
  2. Carrie_Hearts

    June 20, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    Wow so beautiful! I love the shape of the bodice and the gathered hips! Just amazing!

     
  3. deweydecimalsbutler

    June 20, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    Well done!

     
  4. Ann

    June 21, 2014 at 7:59 am

    Hi Angela,
    Don’t think because I don’t comment on each post that I haven’t read each word, scrutinized each photo so I could hope to at least partly understand your techniques or drooled over what you’ve accomplished. I feel like I’ve used every superlative I know in describing my level of awe at your work. I have a friend who is teaching a fashion course next year at the high school level. I’m going to direct her to your blog as a teaching tool for her students. I’m pretty certain there will be gasps when they realize you are close to their age. I’m thinking you will inspire a few of these students to think of fashion in a whole new way.
    BTW. I think you must find a garden party to wear your dress to. Otherwise it will take up your entire closet. What do you do with all these amazing creations? They can’t fit in a modern closet can they? Just curious.
    Ann

     
  5. Valentina (@P_ValeChan)

    June 21, 2014 at 12:18 pm

    I love your costumes. you’re amazing dear. i think this. i hope to meet you a day. i’d really so much. T_T

     
  6. jillbrooks10

    June 21, 2014 at 5:49 pm

    You are an amazing seamstress with huge potential for life success. How do you find time for anything else?
    Signed,
    A Big Fan🙂

     
  7. Nancy York

    June 22, 2014 at 1:32 am

    This blows me away as always the talent you have with being self taught is truly amazing. I’m sure as you get older you will end up doing something in the textile/garment industry that is very creative and fulfilling.

     
  8. Janet

    June 23, 2014 at 6:06 am

    Gorgeous! Love all the details.

     
  9. hexxwhat

    June 25, 2014 at 12:42 am

    This dress is just so amazingly gorgeous! I really hope you post pictures of yourself wearing it soon because it captivates me. It reminds me strongly of something Elisabeth of Austria would have worn. It’s just stunning. Keep up all of your excellent work.

     
  10. Erin

    May 20, 2015 at 5:15 am

    Hi, I love all your costumes, they’re AMAZING. I just wanted to know, do you use a pattern book for the patterns for the bodices on your dress or do you mostly just wing it? And if you just wing it, do you just drape your skirt to join the bodice according to the shape of the bodice or do you cut it to fit the bodice?

     
  11. Kellie

    May 21, 2015 at 11:29 am

    Do you ever think about selling your work? I would buy lots of your dresses, such as the ivory one above! I would pay good money for them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
