RSS

Sketches, a Fantasy Inspired Bridal Collection

22 Jun

I decided today was a good day for a blog post. I just finished writing a very wordy tutorial and it left me in the mood to post something photo heavy! Fair warning, this post will be a little different then usual, since it’s centered around sketches i’ve done.

A month or so ago I was contacted by a bridal store and asked to collaborate with the owner to create a mini collection for Fall. You may recall me posting about some exciting news a while back, well, this was it!  I was super excited and worked hard to create six designs that I was happy with.

The owner seemed to like them too, but due to budget constraints the collection was delayed. Now it’s been a few weeks without contact so it seems like these designs will never be more then sketches. I’m sad, but still proud of the work I did, so I wanted to share it!

The goal was to create a fantasy inspired collection that was wearable and filled with unique touches that aren’t really found in existing bridal wear. The dresses are all designed to be very structured and intricately seamed but soft at the same time. I wanted to merge traditional silhouettes and modesty with something more modern brides might be interested in.

I picture them all made from a lightweight brocade, layered with silk organza, english net, and a lot of lace. I tried to design them in pairs but also keep a cohesive look to the whole thing.

My favorite one is the black one since it’s so daring!

Before I get into the colored sketches here are a few WIP’s.

 

DSC_6800

DSC_6798

This was the first dress that I designed, and I think it’s my second favorite of the bunch!

DSC_6808 resize

The companion piece to this was a slightly slimmer fit gown made from the same materials, with shorter sleeves and a longer train.

DSC_6809resize

After that is my favorite one – the store owner requested a black dress and though it took me a little while to come up with an idea this eventually became my favorite!

DSC_6806resize

The companion piece to this is a very similar dress, just made in ivory without sleeves.

DSC_6804resize

The last two were built to be more modern, this one would have had a detachable skirt.

DSC_6813 copy

And this one is a very simple princess style dress in the front, with a flounce explosion in the back. I wanted this one to be made in a peach color with a lace covered bodice.

DSC_6812resize

Here is the collection overview;

DSC_6816 copy

DSC_6815 copy

DSC_6814 copy

In addition to creating all of those sketches, I also did loose sketches of the bodice fronts and backs, as well as full body images of the dress backs.

DSC_7139

DSC_7146

I think in total I did maybe thirty sketches? It was certainly an interesting process, and I learned a lot.

It’s really unfortunate I won’t be able to move forward on this project. Maybe some day i’ll have the money to fund it myself.

Thanks for reading!

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

13 responses to “Sketches, a Fantasy Inspired Bridal Collection

  1. deweydecimalsbutler

    June 22, 2014 at 8:33 pm

    Thanks for at least trying to break out of the strapless A-line trend. These look gorgeous.

     
    • Angela Clayton

      June 22, 2014 at 9:59 pm

      Thank you! I guess the world isn’t ready to leave ruched white dresses behind just yet.

       
      • deweydecimalsbutler

        June 22, 2014 at 10:31 pm

        I suppose not. Pity. My wedding dress was from a Josephine Bonaparte costume pattern. I was the oddball in a long line of weddings that year.

         
  2. Sean

    June 22, 2014 at 9:13 pm

    From a business type just keep an eye on your possible business partner. They may take your design to someone for build without giving you credit for it.

     
    • Angela Clayton

      June 22, 2014 at 9:27 pm

      Very much aware of that, but unfortunately there is nothing I can do at this point. I have proof it’s my work and hopefully that will be enough to protect me if it comes to that.

       
      • Sean

        June 22, 2014 at 9:30 pm

        You can always look at the positive side, in the worst case you can still take credit for the finished product as the designer 🙂 BTW – you do great work, I’ve been very interesting following your work.

         
      • Angela Clayton

        June 22, 2014 at 9:58 pm

        Ah, unless they mess them up! Without my design notes I doubt the end result would be anything like I had imagined. That sounds a little bit conceited but oh well.

        Thank you! I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

         
  3. Linda

    June 22, 2014 at 10:15 pm

    Angie, you are such a talented designer!! I enjoy seeing all your work.

     
  4. GattiRenata

    June 23, 2014 at 9:16 am

    beautiful!!!!

     
  5. Curious Charlie

    June 23, 2014 at 12:16 pm

    Amazing work!

     
  6. Jeannette

    June 23, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    Definitely fund it yourself or find a sponsor, excellent work and would love to see this as one of your own collections.

     
    • Angela Clayton

      June 23, 2014 at 1:49 pm

      Looking at about $4000 of material costs to make the dresses, so funding it myself isn’t an option right now (nor will it be in the next few years). Maybe some day!

       
  7. Molly

    July 31, 2014 at 5:25 pm

    These are really beautiful sketches, they seem very well thought out! I’m sure you will make an exceptional designer someday!

     

Leave a Reply

 
