RSS

Silvery Blue Dress, Photos

18 Mar

I finally got around to editing all of these! So here they are, finished photos of my silver/galavant/renaissance inspired fantasy dress! I really need to think up a better title for this dress, but i’m the worst at naming things.

This dress was inspired by Madalena’s wedding dress in the show “Galavant” and has a few qualities to it that remind me of early Renaissance gowns. I made it from materials I had around, which included five yards of a shiny “mystery” fabric and a matching brocade. I made it in about two weeks, and it was a really enjoyable project! More information about the inspiration and construction process is posted under this tag.

These photos were taken during one of the many snowstorms we got this year – which are quite inconvenient, but make for some pretty pictures!

Blue 3

Blue 5

Blue 7

Blue 2

Blue 6

Blue 1

Blue 8

..

I mentioned in the last post about making this dress that I would like to add a liner to better support the skirt, because the flowy fabric doesn’t hold its shape. I’d also like to make a better petticoat to pair with my renaissance dresses, since I have many dresses with this shape and no specific petti to support them.

But aside from that, i’m really pleased with this dress and how the photos turned out!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2015 in Completed Costumes, Renaissance

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Silvery Blue Dress, Photos

  1. Carrie_Hearts

    March 18, 2015 at 5:14 pm

    Stunning! I love this dress, the colours are wonderful🙂

     
  2. Nancy York

    March 18, 2015 at 7:51 pm

    So gorgeous you are one talented young lady I really admire you.

     
  3. Viva La DIY

    March 19, 2015 at 1:06 am

    So lovely!!
    ♡ Dulce

     
  4. Jiandra

    March 19, 2015 at 6:31 am

    The photos are really amazing! Like straight out from a painting! I truly liked the crown touch and the snow setting. Must’ve been difficult to shoot because of the cold, yeah? Kudos to you and to your photographer for braving the freezing weather!

    Your works are always inspiring! > v<)❤

     
  5. Ari Baker

    March 19, 2015 at 6:55 am

    What a beautiful dress! Also, I wish we had had half as much snow as you around here.😉

     
  6. davidbruceblog

    March 19, 2015 at 7:37 am

    Reblogged this on davidbruceblog and commented:
    As always, these are beautiful photos.

     
  7. Minami

    March 19, 2015 at 2:30 pm

    Again, your dress is so beautiful! I love it, I totally love it!❤ But, I think your neck seems a bit, well, empty? Maybe a nice, small necklace, to 'fill it up'? Please don't think I find your photos or dress ugly, it's just a suggestion. :3

     
  8. foolishlife

    March 19, 2015 at 6:09 pm

    Awesome! Everything fits perfectly, the dress, the backdrop, and the colors.

     
  9. Helen

    March 19, 2015 at 11:05 pm

    Silly question, how do you keep the dress from falling off your shoulders? Hidden straps, double sided tape, a tight fit, or is it just the boning in the bodice that keeps it up?

     
  10. Tiana

    March 21, 2015 at 3:06 pm

    Wow, this is beautiful! You’re work is so amazing and you inspire me so much.

     
  11. Byron's Muse

    March 22, 2015 at 10:46 am

    Beautiful! Magnificent! I love the overall fairy tale atmosphere, and the sleeves are gorgeous Excellent work!🙂

     
  12. Amy Buffone

    May 20, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    Incredible!! I’m awestruck by your work.

     
  13. Alethia

    May 27, 2015 at 5:25 pm

    Another masterpiece. Beautifulllllll!

     
  14. Nanik

    October 31, 2015 at 6:46 pm

    Wow!! It’s so beautiful!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
