RSS

Making a Orchid Inspired Dress, Part Two

29 May

This is the second post about making my Orchid Inspired Dress! Today i’m going over the process of making the lower half of this costume. The post about making the bodice can be read here.

The skirt base is a really big circle skirt cut from striped upholstery material. Unfortunately at the time I bought this material my math skills failed me and I purchased wrong amount. I only bought three yards and I really needed another eighteen inches. I had to crop the front and back of the skirt by four inches just to cut the skirt out. Yikes.

DSC_4133

Here you can see how that ended up looking on my dress form. Do you see the problem?

DSC_4134

Luckily I had a plan that would cover the hem! It would involve the three yards of organza I bought without  a real purpose in mind.

So I did a rough patching job that lengthened the front of the skirt. It was pretty ugly, but it’s okay if it’s ugly, I can cover that up later.

(that could be my personal motto)

DSC_4136

The back of the skirt was also too short, so I used leftover fabric to make a train. I planned on using the organza to cover the seam, so the stripes not lining up shouldn’t be noticeable in the end.

DSC_4144

With the skirt the right length all the way around, I could move onto hemming! I started by stitching a half inch away from the lower edge. This was done to prevent fraying more than anything else.

DSC_4145

It still frayed a huge amount in some spots, so I trimmed those places with pinking shears.

DSC_4147

Then I used a basting stitch to turn the edge over.

DSC_4148

And then the edge got turned over again, this time by two inches.

DSC_4153

I sewed that down, by hand, with a whip stitch. This hem was ridiculous, I think it was six yards long or something similar. It took all afternoon to finish!

DSC_4154

It was around this point that I felt the skirt looked a little boring. So I decided to paint spots up the back of it. The logic here was “My Orchid has spots, so my dress should have spots!” which seemed like a bright idea at the time. I drew these spots out with a colored pencil, then filled them in with a jacquard paint in the color “violet”.

DSC_4157

After putting on the first layer I had a “Oh god what have I done” moment of immediate regret. I definitely didn’t love how it looked, but by this point I was committed so I kept going.

DSC_4165

The paint wasn’t as opaque as I had hoped, so I did a second coat with a setacolor ink. This stuff wasn’t very opaque either, but I was running out of it so I decided two coats would have to be enough!

DSC_4170

With the spots done it was time to decorate the hem with organza. I debated about what technique to use, but finally decided to sew it into tubes and to tack them down kind of haphazardly. It all sounds very strange but I had a vision!

Here are the strips of organza.

DSC_4171

They got sewn into tubes, then the seam allowance was trimmed down, and they were turned rightside out.

DSC_4173

I had a few different sizes. I really wish I had bought more organza because I didn’t have nearly enough. I had hoped to use some of these on the bodice and top of the skirt but I needed them all for just the hem,

DSC_4175

DSC_4176

DSC_4172

I didn’t steam or iron any of the tubes, so they still had a lot of volume after being pinned and stitched onto the hem. I also used all the remaining mesh from my Fluffy Feathered Dress to make it look like flowers were growing up the dress. I’m pretty happy with how this turned out, though I wish I had more organza so I could have made the strips wider and the effect more pronounced.

DSC_4179

DSC_4372

With the bottom of the skirt done, it was time to focus on the top half – I guess this part could be considered a peplum, but that isn’t a word I think of applying to part of a ball gown!

These are the pieces that drape down from the bodice in petal like shapes. I drafted these by hanging my few remaining pieces of organza from the waistline, then trimming them into the correct shape.

DSC_4375

Once laid flat they looked like this. I sewed the darts and cleaned up the edges.

DSC_4374

Then I finished those edges off with home made bias tape.

DSC_4376

Now it was time for the draping! This would be done with purple taffeta, like the bodice was. I used the same technique and cut strips of taffeta which got folded in half and stitched up the side, then turned right side out.

DSC_4378

After a lot of pinning I came up with something I liked!

DSC_4379

So I took it off the dress form and tacked the strips down so the draping pattern would stay put. Then I stitched the tops of the “petals” together so sewing it onto the bodice would be easier.

DSC_4380

But before sewing anything I decided to make another piece for this dress: A bow. I cut three more strips of taffeta and sewed them into tubes (see a running theme with this dress?) then folded the edges into points and whip stitched them closed.

DSC_4381

Then I put the bodice, skirt, peplum, and bow onto the dress form just to make sure everything looked the way I wanted.

DSC_4386

DSC_4384

I was really happy with the draping and placement of everything (and the bow, I always love a good bow) but I thought the skirt was lacking in volume. Though it had tons at first, my petticoats have a habit of deflating, and after two weeks of working on this project the skirt had shrunk and looked pathetic.

But any good seamstress should have a bolt of petticoat net on hand! And I did! I cut out a few large rectangles and sewed them into strips.

DSC_4362

Then the lower edges got trimmed with home made bias tape so they wouldn’t catch on anything.

DSC_4364

The tops were gathered down and stitched together.

DSC_4365

And in no time at all I had a netting lining for my dress!

DSC_4366

Now I felt comfortable sewing everything together. But (isn’t there always a but?) I had to fix up the opening in the back first, because it had turned into a frayed mess.

DSC_4408

I trimmed back the worst of the frayed parts, then attached taffeta bias tape around the opening.

DSC_4409

I also sewed a zipper underneath the bias tape, but for some reason I didn’t take photos of that part.

Now I could finally begin assembly! The peplum was sewn onto the skirt, then the netting was sewn in. The photo below shows the netting just before being tacked to the interior of the zipper.

DSC_4411

With all the layers together I could finally attach bias tape to the top. This prevents fraying and any scratchiness from the netting.

DSC_4412

And then the bodice got attached!

DSC_4414

Here is how it looks finished! I wish I had photos of the back but this dress is too big for my room, the train ended up being cut off in every picture.

DSC_4644***

DSC_4559****

DSC_4522*

DSC_4594

Thank you for reading!

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

17 responses to “Making a Orchid Inspired Dress, Part Two

  1. senevilla

    May 29, 2015 at 6:34 pm

    The purple lipstick was a nice touch!

     
  2. Jessica

    May 29, 2015 at 9:07 pm

    This is such a lovely dress but the weird little added on piece for the train absolutely ruins the line for me. Have you considered scrapping it and adding more organza ruffles to get the length you are looking for?? Love the back of the bodice, that bow is super dope.

     
    • Angela Clayton

      June 2, 2015 at 5:40 pm

      I think if I was going to removed that part, i’d want to recut the entire back of the dress to remove or redo the spots. But i’m sort of over this dress, and can’t imagine investing more time and money into it haha. If I was, I don’t think I would do a ruffle train on it – i’d worry it would look a bit like an 80s wedding dress!

       
  3. Alethia

    May 29, 2015 at 10:15 pm

    The orchid was a wonderful inspiration and the resulting dress is beautiful. The skirt definitely needed the addition of the purple, but not sure about the bands??? Painting the bottom of the dress was a bold addition, I am not sure about that design??? Someone the dress is still beautiful!!!

     
  4. kinderlieb

    May 30, 2015 at 4:00 am

    Reblogged this on kinderlieb.

     
  5. Sandrina

    May 30, 2015 at 9:47 am

    This dress is huge, wow! I think it’s really gorgeous, though I have to admit I’m not super fond of the purple additions on the skirt (the drapes). It’s personal taste, but I find it makes the dress look a bit more messy since they’re such huge strips? And while I love the train, I do get what Jessica is saying, especially since the dots there are more haphazard.
    I do actually really like the outcome of the painted dots though!

     
  6. Meescha

    May 30, 2015 at 12:12 pm

    Just remember that you made the dress for you, and nobody else. Other people seem to be forgetting that😛 It is beautifully constructed and accessorized. Well done🙂 All that matters is that you are happy with it! Thank you for sharing it with us.

     
    • Angela Clayton

      June 2, 2015 at 5:42 pm

      Thank you! Haha, that’s okay – not everyone is going to like every dress. I make costumes for selfish reasons so it doesn’t bother me too much! But I appreciate the kind words.

       
  7. Dream-on-momma

    May 30, 2015 at 9:25 pm

    You are very talented, your work was amazing. I could tell how passionate you are And you sure will have a bright future ahead. I am also a self taught and customery is a big project I am dreaming about and looking forward to. I am planning on sewing my own bridal gown as we are on a tight budget so I am looking into tutorials and came across your videos. Looks like you are having so much fun and thats something that matters.

     
    • Angela Clayton

      June 2, 2015 at 5:36 pm

      Aw, thank you so much! You are very kind🙂 And good luck with making your dress, I hope it turns out perfectly!

       
  8. Karune

    May 31, 2015 at 4:27 pm

    I feel really like an anoying and bad person giving advice to skilled person like you BUT… After few years being a lolita i discovered that tulle petticoats are more likely to “die” than organza ones, so maybe if your petticoats tends to loose their poof you could try organza ones… I don’t know if this is really your problem and I am also really sorry if you allready know that and if I am just being annoying and rude to you!

     
    • Angela Clayton

      June 2, 2015 at 5:35 pm

      Haha, I agree with you! I have a short organza petticoat I made ages ago and it’s my favorite because it’s so poofy. I just haven’t been willing to invest the time and money into buying twenty yards of organza and a couple hundred yards of seam binding which a full length organza petti would require. SOME DAY I’LL DO IT!

       
  9. Nesii

    June 1, 2015 at 7:36 am

    the spots, I think, would have looked even better if you sort of, beaded them. But still, gorgeous work as always.🙂

     
  10. kristensehn

    June 1, 2015 at 3:22 pm

    This dress is beautifully constructed and looks stunning on you! Nice work🙂

    http://sehnsationalstyle.wordpress.com

     
  11. Crystal

    June 19, 2015 at 12:19 am

    This dress is absolutely gorgeous, like all of your work. Honestly, I think even what most consider the imperfections in this piece are lovely because it is truly one of a kind and very different and classier than what is passing for fashion these days. Always a pleasure to see your blog.

     
  12. Jandy Humble

    July 9, 2015 at 10:58 am

    I really like the asymmetrical neckline on this dress!

     

Leave a Reply

 
