RSS

Making a Cinderella Inspired Dress, Part Two

17 Jul

We are onto the final blog post about Cinderella! And more exciting than that, once I finish writing this I don’t have to see the dress ever again!

Can you tell i’m still a bit annoyed about how frustrating this project has been? I was so looking forward to having a fun/sparkly/easy side project. I expected it to take two weeks, if that, and here we are two months later and it’s only just been finished. Sometimes projects don’t go as planned, and this one definitely didn’t.

But it’s done! And it actually came out pretty cute.

I made the skirt from two rectangles and a lot of gored panels (which were just rectangles cut in half diagonally). The fabric wasn’t wide enough to cut it as a partial circle skirt, otherwise I would have done that.

DSC_4671

All the pieces were sewn together with the wrong sides together, then the edges were trimmed and sewn into french seams.

DSC_4674

Since the skirt was made from rectangles and triangles the hem was pretty blocky and uneven. I cut one half to the shape I wanted, then used that side as a guide for cutting the other half.

DSC_4677

After being ironed, this is what it looked like!

DSC_4680

It was really sheer, so I decided to use chiffon as lining. I used the skirt as a guide to cut the chiffon down to be the same size….or at least close to the same size. I did a sloppy job on this part!

DSC_5565

I sewed up the back edge of the chiffon with a french seam. Then the lamé layer was pinned to the chiffon, with the right sides facing each other.

DSC_5567

I sewed a half inch away from the hem.

DSC_5569

Then I turned it the right way out and stitched a quarter inch away from the hem.

DSC_5571

And I also sewed across the waistline to prevent the chiffon from drooping down and being visible.

DSC_5574

I knife pleated the top of the skirt down to twenty five inches.

DSC_5576

And sewed across the top.

DSC_5579

I cut a slit up the back to help me get the skirt on and off. I used bias tape to finish the raw edges, but I didn’t take photos of that part.

DSC_5580

I made the last minute decision to add a ruffle. I felt like the hem was missing something and when in doubt always add ruffles.

DSC_5588

For the skirt overlay I gathered a five yard block of tulle down to the same waist measurement, then sewed it to the top of the skirt. I like the effect this gives, but I really needed more tulle. If I did things again I would probably use ten or fifteen yards of tulle, and have two separate layers. That would create way more volume and give the skirt a nicer silhouette. It would also hide the seams in the lamé a bit better.

I think the way it looks now you can kind of tell it needs more tulle. It just doesn’t look right to me.

DSC_5600

But I carried on! I trimmed the hem of the tulle to match the hem of the skirt.

DSC_5602

And the final step was attaching a waistband. I made mine from more lamé which was fused to interfacing to add the necessary stiffness.

DSC_5604

The waistband got pinned on, then sewn. I also sewed a snap onto the centerback to keep it closed. I opted to keep the skirt separate from the bodice just to make it easier to get into and store. But I can always sew them together later on if I feel like it.

DSC_5606

Now, with the skirt finished, it’s time to complete the bodice. In my last post I had the bodice mostly finished, it was just missing the collar and sleeves. So those are the things i’ll be talking about today.

The gown in the film doesn’t have sleeves, but puff sleeves flatter my arms nicely and I think they work well with the dress design. The pre-transformation dress had puff sleeves, so who says the transformed ball gown shouldn’t?

I made the sleeves similar to the ones on 19th century ball gowns. Which means they are short, sheer, with boning in the cuff. I started by cutting two three yard lengths of tulle.

DSC_5088

Then I gathered the sleeves at one end, about an inch away from the edge. This edge will be the cuff and this gathering creates a cute one inch ruffle.

DSC_5090

I pinned the tulle onto my sleeve pattern.

DSC_5091

Then sewed around the top so they would hold that shape. I decided my sleeves were a bit long so I sewed one inch away from that line. I also sewed ribbon across the gathering at the cuff. This ribbon was supposed to be a boning channel but the boning kept getting caught on the tulle. If I forced it, it would tear.

DSC_5095

So I sewed tiny strips of lamé overtop the ribbon, then inserted the boning into that, which totally worked! I also trimmed the sleeves down to the line I sewed across the top.

I pinned the sides to make sure they fit (they did) then sewed them up.

DSC_5097

Pretty little finished sleeves~

DSC_5099

Those got sewn onto the bodice with a whip stitch.

DSC_5112

I made the collar from two rectangles of lamé and two of tulle. I think these were about ten inches wide and twenty something inches long. The tulle was cut to be fifteen inches longer since I had planned on tying the ends into a bow at the front.

DSC_5114

I pinned the right sides together and sewed the rectangles into tubes. This is what they looked like when turned the right way out.

DSC_5118

I gathered one end of each tube down to about an inch. This will be the center point of the collar and attach to the center front of the bodice neckline.

DSC_5121

It was at this point that I started pinning the collar on. I tried the bodice on with the collar and hated it. The proportions were really off and it didn’t look the way I wanted at all. I decided the only way to fix it was by lowering the neckline. So I used a sharpie to draw a “V” in the center and chopped off three inches. The edges got finished with ribbon so it won’t fray.

DSC_5123

Then I pinned the collar on again. I was much happier with it this time!

DSC_5124

DSC_5125

I decided against the bow – it looked silly on the bodice. So I ended up cutting most of the tulle off and wrapping the few remaining inches around the gathered parts of the collar. This hid the stitching.

DSC_5128

I finished the bodice off with little fabric flowers which I got from Joanns. I pinned three onto the cuff of each sleeve and three to the center point of the collar.

DSC_5129

With those sewn on it was finished!

DSC_5131

DSC_5132

DSC_5134

I paired the costume with a home made headband. I sewed iridescent beads and more ribbon flowers to a dyed strip of organza. This adds a little sparkle to the wig without destroying it with E6000 and rhinestones.

DSC_5587

Here is a closeup of the bodice. I liked the webcam photos of this a lot more than the ones taken with my nice camera (the lighting makes them a bit weird looking) but i’ll post those below as well!

Photo on 7-12-15 at 3.44 PM #3

Cinderella 2

Cinderella 1

cinderella 3

cinderella 5

Considering all the struggles I had with the first half of this project, I’m pretty happy with the end result. I think the bodice especially ended up really cute. If I were to do it again I would add several more tulle overlays to the skirt. I would also use a different lining fabric for the bodice. One of my favorite things about the live action dress were the different textures in it (the skirt, collar, and bodice were all completely different). But my dress only has one texture – and even though it’s a pretty texture,  it’s all the same all over so it lacks visual interest.

I’d also set the eyelets properly the first time and make the bodice a little differently. If I had done that the first time I would have enjoyed this project way more!

Thank you for sticking with me – hopefully my next project will go a little better!

 
21 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2015 in Cosplay, Disney, The Making Of

 

Tags: , , , ,

21 responses to “Making a Cinderella Inspired Dress, Part Two

  1. Lady Earlene (Kirstie Hudson)

    July 17, 2015 at 6:43 pm

    Oh that is lovely! Great job. I know it was a struggle but the result is beautiful!

     
  2. Alethia

    July 17, 2015 at 7:54 pm

    You did it again, another breathtakingly beautiful creation. Just beautiful!!!!!

     
  3. Brenda

    July 17, 2015 at 9:29 pm

    I think it looks wonderful, and none of the problems you related are visible–great job!

     
  4. Linden

    July 17, 2015 at 10:53 pm

    Hi, I love it when your posts pop up in my in box! You are so talented and I love all your creations, they are always absolutely beautiful… I especially like the sleeves on this one, they look so cute with the little flowers on.

     
  5. Celia Valdez

    July 18, 2015 at 1:12 am

    Your so talented! Thank you for all the artistic talent.Sent from Yahoo Ma

     
  6. Sal

    July 18, 2015 at 5:58 am

    Absolutely lovely! Thank you for sharing this.

     
  7. Sally

    July 18, 2015 at 8:52 am

    We are always our own worse critic. The dress is beautiful and looks stunning on you!

     
  8. Abigail

    July 18, 2015 at 10:22 am

    So beautiful!

     
  9. Jessica

    July 18, 2015 at 10:42 am

    That is AH-MAZING!!

     
  10. JMurrcat

    July 18, 2015 at 3:32 pm

    Again, your sewing abilities are amazing. Especially in someone so young. And you look so beautiful.

     
  11. Diana

    July 19, 2015 at 12:28 am

    Amazing!

    Your wig is also super cute, where did you get it?

     
  12. smittenness

    July 19, 2015 at 8:33 am

    Wow! That’s beautiful work. Your pieces are amazing, get an exhibition together! So inspiring

     
  13. Elisa

    July 19, 2015 at 9:24 am

    My daughter and four of her friends are all making coordinating homecoming dresses this year inspired by a different Disney Princess but all based off of a very similar concept as you have done – all making the separate skirt and bodice in different colors and decorating and embellishing to represent their princess! Thank you so much for inspiring them!

     
  14. brookealysec

    July 20, 2015 at 4:33 pm

    This looks amazing, as usual!! You are such an inspiration to me!

     
  15. Tiana

    July 20, 2015 at 5:35 pm

    This is absolutely stunning! I am in love with your design of the bodice, it’s so elegant and delicate.

     
  16. 9thprincess

    July 21, 2015 at 4:48 am

    Since your sewing abilities were (deservedly) praised enough, I would like to add that you are aboslutely gorgeous🙂 I love your perfect skin and eyes, and the stunning way you pair every dress with just the right makeup and wig!

     
  17. Jandy Humble

    July 22, 2015 at 10:58 am

    I adore your work. Great job!

     
  18. Gabriel Rivera

    July 27, 2015 at 5:41 pm

    I honestly think it looks gorgeous as it is😀 It’d be really cool if you added shades of other blues and purples in the skirt like the actual film ballgown did but for an inspired piece, it looks stunning.

     
  19. imnosidekick

    August 6, 2015 at 2:41 am

    Beautiful! I adore the beading you did🙂

     
  20. Alexa Wessel

    August 20, 2015 at 6:08 pm

    This is absolutely gorgeous!!! I love the colors and the way you tied everything together!

     
  21. Wildflowers & Paintbrushes

    March 13, 2016 at 9:59 pm

    Do you have a pattern that you use for making sleeves? I haven’t been able to find one online and my attempts at making one myself have failed… Any suggestions?

     

Leave a Reply

 
