RSS

Making a Night Fury / Toothless Pajama Set, Part Two

30 Oct

I managed to figure out how to make the hood for this thing, which means it’s time for the second post about making my Toothless PJs! Part one is posted here, and shows how I made the shorts and top. This post is about making the hood for my PJs…and that little dachshund sized Night Fury hoodie I mentioned last week.

I decided to use the pattern I drafted for my Appa hoodie as a base. But I made it larger in both length and width because I wanted the hood to be deeper. I also drafted a stripe that would go down the back and serve as a base for little spikes.

 Speaking of spikes I drafted a dozen of those as well. And I drew out all the “ears” Toothless has – I think these should be referred to as spines or spikes, but they move and react to his emotions the way an animals ears would, which is why I think of them that way.

These were tricky to draft, since they react and change depending on Toothless’ mood. There isn’t reference photo that shows how they are supposed to look since they look different in every photo. I basically guessed on the shape and kept holding them up to my head to see if they looked right.

DSC_8140

Guin’s hoodie was based off the pattern I drafted for her Momo hoodie a few years back, with only a few alterations. I also drafted a tail, rectrices, wings, ears, and a few mini spikes to decorate the base pattern.

DSC_8141

Step one was tracing all the spines and spikes onto flannel and cotton. For the small spikes I used cotton, since it’s easier to get clean lines with lighter weight fabric. For the larger ones I used two layers of flannel.

I backed the minky for the six largest spines with fusible interfacing to help them keep their shape.

DSC_8150

I showed this process in part one, so I won’t go into too much detail about it this time. I placed two layers of minky between the layers of flannel (or cotton) and sewed around the guidelines.

DSC_8154

Then the spikes were turned the right way out and the lower edges were turned over by a quarter inch. This way all the visible edges are finished nicely. These spikes were eventually stuffed with batting.

DSC_8156

The pieces that make up the spines (or ears) are relatively flat so they don’t need stuffing. I thought they would need wire or something to give them shape but the interfacing did a surprisingly good job, so I didn’t think that was necessary. Because they were so stiff all the pieces (except for the ones on the left) can be sewn directly into seams and don’t need to be whip stitched on.

But to give them a bit more stiffness I sewed a quarter inch away from the edges of each piece, all the way around. The stitching holds the layers together and makes them feel a lot heavier.

The ones on the left are supposed to be pretty perky, in the movies they even stick straight up at times. So I’m going to create a stiff base that slides into them before they are sewn on, which will hopefully keep them upright.

DSC_8159

Before attaching any of those I needed to make the actual hood. Below you can see the hood lining and the two pieces that make up the top layer of the hood. The back portion is made from the cuddle fleece (so it the lining) and the front piece is made from minky stone.

The front portion eventually got backed with interfacing to add a bit of volume to the hood.

DSC_8152

Now I ran into a little problem with the spines. Ideally these would be sewn into the seam between the front and back part of the hood, but I was having a hard time visualizing where they should go and I couldn’t get it to look right.

While I was trying to figure that out I did up the back seam of the hood and the lining. I also made the stripe for the back of the hood and sewed that on.

I knew roughly where I wanted the spines to go but I still couldn’t get them to look right. So I sewed the seam most of the way up, but left five inch openings for the spines on either side. This way I could add them a little later on when I had a better idea of how the hood would look.

DSC_8164

After doing that the hood was still really floppy, which prevented the spines from sitting the way I wanted.  To fix that I sewed in the lining, then I stitched a half inch away from the front edge to create a channel, which I inserted a piece of quarter inch plastic boning into. Now the hood actually kept its shape when it was up!

DSC_8165

So the spines could finally be sewn on and the opening in the seam got sewn shut. I also got all the spikes stuffed and sewed them down the center of the hood with a whip stitch. There are seven mounted on the stripe down the back, and three smaller ones at the very front.

I made sure the whip stitches that secure the spikes on went through the lining as well. This tacks the lining to the top layer of the hood, which prevents it from looking baggy on the inside.

DSC_8170

Unfortunately I wasn’t really happy with the largest, most expressive spines. I thought they looked too much like massive elf ears because they were so pointy. Luckily the fix was easy, I just turned the tip over and whip stitched it down so the top looked more like a square than a triangle!

When I was happy with that I made little buckram cones which fit inside the spines and keep them upright.

DSC_8169

The buckram was inserted and the bottom edge of the spines got turned over. Then I whip stitched them onto the hood.

The final step was attaching two larger horns on either side of the stripe that goes down the back. Once that was done the hood was finished!

DSC_8171

I made sure the top layer of the hood and the lining were secured together, then sewed it onto the body of the hoodie.

DSC_8181

And it’s done! I have mixed feelings about this. I really love everything except for the hood. I’m just not happy with the shape and placement of all the spines on the hood, which is a bummer since that’s one of the most important parts. But I like everything else! I think it’s cute and it’s really comfortable to wear. So I’m considering it a success and i’m happy I decided to make it.

DSC_8183

DSC_8187

DSC_8186

DSC_8190

Worn photos of it will be at the end, I just want to go through the process of making Guin’s hoodie really quickly!

The first thing I made were her little wings. I used one layer of flannel and one layer of minky for this and inserted wire into them so they would stick up. I used grey embroidery floss to stitch the joint pattern into them but I don’t have a photo of that process.

DSC_8143

I made all the rectrices next (not sure if that is the right word for these) and used a similar embroidery process. My stitching on both these and the wings is really bad, I’m a bit ashamed. I was using five strands of floss and a very big needle which made it really difficult to get even lines and stitching.

DSC_8147

Then I cut out the body of the hoodie, along with the hood and tail piece.

DSC_8153

Here is her little hood and the spines – the construction process for this was really similar to mine!

DSC_8160

Here is the placement of the spines on her hood! It was much easier to figure things on on this small scale…

DSC_8163

The front part of the hood got sewn on and I stitched the lining in.

DSC_8199

Then I assembled the bottom half of the hoodie. These two pieces zip together which makes it really easy to get on and off.

DSC_8193

I made a little tale using the same process I used on the spikes for my hoodie. The lower half was stuffed and rest was top stitched onto the hoodie.

DSC_8194

Then I added a zipper and did up the side seams.

DSC_8196

The hood got sewn on and it was finished! I wish I had added more stiffening to the spines, because they are floppier than they should be. But I think it’s pretty cute.

DSC_8200

I don’t think Guin liked her hoodie very much. The hood didn’t fit the way had hoped, since it was too small in the chest to zip up all the way. If I use this pattern for another dachshund hoodie I’ll have to let it out a bit.

DSC_8591resize

DSC_8592

DSC_8571

Now for pictures of my PJs! I need to take more photos against this wall. I love the color of it.
Toothless Resize 4

Toothless Resize 2

Toothless Resize 3

Toothless Resize 1

That’s it! As I said, I like how this turned out a lot. I would just do things differently with the hood if I made it again.

Thanks for reading!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2015 in Cosplay, The Making Of

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “Making a Night Fury / Toothless Pajama Set, Part Two

  1. mrsmelanievarela

    October 30, 2015 at 3:49 pm

    I think it’s darling! And so is Guins. You’ll be snuggly warm!

     
  2. Brandi

    October 30, 2015 at 5:01 pm

    Cool! Very interesting pajamas. That dachshund is a little cutie. ^^ By the way, your hair is gorgeous. If I may ask, what do you use to color it?

     
    • Angela Clayton

      November 13, 2015 at 5:12 pm

      Thank you! Right now i’m using Manic Panics “Purple Dream” over my unbleached hair.

       
      • Brandi

        November 20, 2015 at 10:18 pm

        Ah, okay; and thank you very much for replying!

         
  3. Amaluna

    October 30, 2015 at 6:12 pm

    Amazing as always, Angela! I really wanted to see a Toothless pajama set!
    Have you ever wondered doing a circus inspired costume? I’d love to see what you could do with this thematic.
    Anyway, keep up with your amazing work!

     
  4. Wonder Madame

    October 31, 2015 at 2:46 am

    It’s great ! I love it !

     
  5. Abigail

    October 31, 2015 at 12:12 pm

    I sleep on my back, so I could never wear this. But it’s super super cool! I love the pictures!

     
  6. Nicoleta Chis

    November 2, 2015 at 4:25 am

    I think you are very very talented,I am passionate about sewing too,only I don’t have much time,I am a new mom,so my time is limited yet.I want to congratulate you for everything you do,the gowns are very beautiful.God bless you:)

     
  7. Elin

    November 4, 2015 at 1:11 pm

    I love it! I want one. I fell in love with your Appa PJ as well, big Avatar fan. Have you completely drafted the pattern yourself? I wish I could buy the pattern, I can sew ok but I have no clue how to make my own patterns.

     
  8. Varekai

    November 5, 2015 at 5:47 pm

    There are no words to describe how talented you are, Angela! If you have time, could you do a Captain Jack Sparrow costume? It’ll be for sure amazing!

     
  9. puzzledustblog

    February 16, 2016 at 8:39 am

    I think I need these in my life. Incredible idea and work!

     
  10. Karen K.

    March 16, 2016 at 3:34 pm

    I love this! My daughter wants to be Toothless for Halloween. I don’t really want her in an all black costume, but maybe just for fun a jacket wouldn’t be bad. I want to make her a stuffed toy… I have all the fabrics, just need a pattern and some time. I love the way this turned out! I think the “ear” spines are perfect! It has given me inspiration for my project!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
