RSS

18th Century Riding Ensemble – Photos

17 Mar

I’m excited to post these – it’s been a while since I’ve had photos of a finished costume to share!

I’m really pleased with these pictures. There were a few issues with the hat and wig, but overall I’m thrilled with how it came together, especially since this was my first time having the entire costume on.

These photos were taken during a pretty intense blizzard (I posted a short video on Instagram that shows how hard it was snowing) and though I love the contrast of the jacket against the snow, I think it hid a lot of this costumes details. I still really like these pictures, i’m just not sure all my hard work shows in them. Because of that I plan on getting more photos of this ensemble in the future – including some that show the dress that goes underneath this project!

Speaking of that, I realize that I still haven’t blogged about the dress worn with this project. The dress is technically finished, but i’m not completely happy with it, so I think i’ll hold off on writing about it until it’s been fixed up. However I have blogged about making the jacket and hat which are the real stars of this ensemble!

Here are the photos!

Angela Clayton_ Riding Coat_ 1

Angela Clayton_ Riding Coat_ 2

Angela Clayton_ Riding Coat_ 4

Angela Clayton_ Riding Coat_ 5

Angela Clayton_ Riding Coat_ 6

Angela Clayton_ Riding Coat_ 3

Thanks for reading! Another update on my Plaid Walking Ensemble should be up tomorrow!

 

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “18th Century Riding Ensemble – Photos

  1. lauraclaycomb

    March 17, 2016 at 5:27 pm

    Can I ask where you live that you end up with so much snow all the time?? Looks gorgeous! And your creations are wonderful!

    All my best, Laura Claycomb

    >

     
  2. Emma

    March 17, 2016 at 8:01 pm

    These are great pictures. I absolutely love this jacket – incredible work! I can’t wait to see the dress underneath it someday. I love the 18th century (and white dresses, go figure), and I bet it will be beautiful.

     
  3. kikisews

    March 17, 2016 at 10:37 pm

    Wow! Good job! It is PERFECT! Can’t wait to see the plaid walking dress! ^^

     
  4. Debbie Weaver

    March 18, 2016 at 12:39 am

    Beautiful ❤️

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

     
  5. Ellie

    March 18, 2016 at 6:52 am

    You look absolutely stunning in this outfit, from the wig, to the stark red against the white of the snow… The costume is absolutely fabulous, though I can’t help thinking that you must be freezing out in a blizzard like that!
    I love seeing all your costume posts, especially the processes that goes into making them; it makes me feel like my dreams of doing something similar to what you’re doing is achievable in a way (I’m a year younger than you, and once I finish college I dream of taking a year out to build up a costume portfolio, like what you’re doing). I’m very inspired reading your posts, so keep up the excellent work!

     
    • Angela Clayton

      March 22, 2016 at 5:55 pm

      Thank you! Between the wool coat and petticoats I wasn’t too cold, but my hands were freezing by the end of it and I was warming them with a hot pack in between photos haha.

      I’m really glad you enjoy my blog. I think anything is possible if you’re passionate about it! So good luck with your work and dreams!

       
      • Ellie

        March 22, 2016 at 7:00 pm

        It’s good that you weren’t too cold; the materials of your outfit does look rather warm, apart from the exposed neckline.
        And thank you very much! 🙂

         
  6. Jessica Wood

    March 18, 2016 at 8:03 am

    Wow, it looks beautiful! Especially with the snow backdrop.

     
  7. Vianki

    March 18, 2016 at 11:03 am

    These are all stunning, but that 3rd one has me itching to paint. Would you mind if I used it as reference? It might not be soon, and I’ll be sure to send you a digital copy of the finished product.

     
    • Angela Clayton

      March 22, 2016 at 5:53 pm

      Thank you so much! I wouldn’t mind at all, In fact I would be flattered! So please feel free to do so if the mood ever strikes you.

       
      • Vianki

        March 26, 2016 at 10:31 pm

        Background done, now on to the hard part… https://www.instagram.com/p/BDcPWfSDSpB/

        I haven’t done a lot of figures, and i’m having trouble deciding if I should go photo-real or stylized, so I thought I’d share before I ruin it. 😀 Of course, the most important part is missing so far.

         
  8. Muslin and Lace

    March 22, 2016 at 10:27 pm

    Love these! I’ve been following your projects for a little while now, and this one really takes the cake so far! I can’t believe how much work you put in to it, you have amazing dedication. Keep it up! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
