RSS

1790’s Round Robe, Photos

08 Jul

It’s been a long time since i’ve had a post devoted to finished photos of a costume! But this weekend I got two costumes photographed, and last month I got two other projects photographed. So I should have lots of photos to share soon – I just have to get them edited first!

These photos are of my 1790’s Round Robe based on one of Norah Waugh’s patterns. The pattern gave me quite a bit of trouble and I ended up being unhappy with the shape of the bodice. But I kept going and now that it’s finished I quite like the ensemble.

It’s made from several yards of striped pale yellow cotton, with a front panel made from a sheer curtain. The bodice (and back of the skirt) is lined with muslin. The skirt closes at the front front with a drawstring and the bodice closes with hooks and snaps.

I paired the dress with some fake pearls and a straw hat that I altered, lined, and trimmed to make it more period appropriate.

I have to posts about making this dress, which can be read here, and here if you’re interested.

Now onto the photos!

Yellow Dress Resize 1

Yellow Dress Resize 9

Yellow Dress Resize 8

Yellow Dress Resize 10

Yellow Dress Resize 11

Yellow Dress Resize 2

Yellow Dress Resize 3

Yellow Dress Resize 5

Yellow Dress Resize 4

Yellow Dress Resize 6

And that’s it!

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “1790’s Round Robe, Photos

  1. Victoria @RufflesandGrace

    July 8, 2016 at 7:32 pm

    OH my gosh! That is so gorgeous! And the pictures turned out amazing!
    Blessings,
    Victoria
    https://rufflesandgrace.wordpress.com/

     
  2. Sue

    July 8, 2016 at 8:10 pm

    Beautiful dress. You are so talented. Thanks for sharing your wonderful creations.

     
  3. Nancy

    July 8, 2016 at 8:21 pm

    Stunning! Thank you for sharing your work and photographs with us.

     
  4. Skeeter Betschart

    July 8, 2016 at 8:24 pm

    Love it! You look exquisite ! >

     
  5. DeForest Bearse

    July 9, 2016 at 5:34 am

    Such exquisite beauty and talent!

     
  6. jumeria

    July 9, 2016 at 12:12 pm

    I really really love your costumes! You have such a talent! It’s insane! πŸ™‚ I am also making costumes but more the fantasy style^^ so I know how much work and also passion gets into every costume that you make ❀

     
  7. Laurie Slate

    July 9, 2016 at 6:57 pm

    you are as talented as you are beautiful!

     
  8. Lisa Poblenz (patternandbranch)

    July 10, 2016 at 1:45 pm

    You look like a beautiful painting or someone in a period film. I can’t believe you made that dress. It’s beautiful!

     
  9. Nanik

    July 11, 2016 at 5:00 am

    Oh, this robe is so beautiful!!

     
  10. Kristina inSF

    July 11, 2016 at 10:39 pm

    You are so very talented! Your dressmaking and design skills are off the charts! Thank you for sharing it with all of us!

     

Leave a Reply

 
