RSS

1830’s Plaid Pleated Dress, Photos

28 Nov

Today I have another set of photos to share. Much like the last photos I posted, these have an autumn theme and were taken in a pumpkin patch. I thought it would be make the perfect lighthearted backdrop for a wacky dress like this one, and it did not disappoint!

This was my first time having the whole ensemble on and I was pretty pleased with it – everything fit and was really comfortable. I was a bit concerned the petticoat would show, or that the bonnet would slip around, but neither of those were an issue.

I paired this with my regency stays that I made ages ago, and my “Victorian“* boots. Neither are particularly accurate to this period but helped achieve the silhouette I wanted. I talk more about the petticoats and the construction of this costume in these posts:

Post 1: The Bodice

Post 2: The Sleeves, Skirt, and Bonnet

Before getting into the photos I wanted to mention my last post, where I reviewed a bunch of costume reference books. If you’re interested in any of them this is the time to buy! Amazon has $10 off book purchases, and Barnes & Noble has 15% off your order, which makes the price of those pretty inspiration books a bit easier to manage!

Now onto the photos!

1830s_finished_resize-0126

1830s_finished_resize-0238

1830s_finished_resize-0216

1830s_finished_resize-0345

1830s_finished_resize-0264

1830s_finished_resize-0279

1830s_finished_resize-0522

1830s_finished_resize-0107

1830s_finished_resize-0550

And some muddy boots after a long morning! Luckily none got on the dress.

1830s_finished_resize-0541

And that’s it! Thanks for reading!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2016 in 19th century, Completed Costumes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “1830’s Plaid Pleated Dress, Photos

  1. Bunny

    November 28, 2016 at 5:19 pm

    Oh, Angela, you make me smile!

     
  2. Victoria @RufflesandGrace

    November 28, 2016 at 8:20 pm

    SO pretty! I love the sleeves! Such magnificent work!

     
  3. Marilyn

    November 28, 2016 at 8:47 pm

    Angela you are so talented. I love that dress. Plaid is so pretty. That bonnet is awesome. Thanks fro sharing.
    Marilyn

     
  4. Beky

    November 29, 2016 at 12:54 am

    Your work is so beautiful. You can certainly see the love and passion for your costumes.

     
  5. KatevaVaimo

    November 29, 2016 at 4:33 am

    I really love this ensemble! I think its one of your best ones or even the best sofar.

     
  6. Girl in the Stix

    November 29, 2016 at 8:20 am

    This is an extraordinary ensemble! Great job with the chapeaux!

     
  7. Nanik

    November 29, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    The dress is fabulous!! You look amazing!!

     
  8. Mistress of Disguise

    November 29, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    Lovely! That fabric is fabulous.

     
  9. erniek3

    December 1, 2016 at 7:19 pm

    I love this plaid. I love what you’ve done with it. The world is better for this!

     
  10. justagirlinashop

    December 4, 2016 at 10:17 pm

    Stunning. Simply stunning.

     

Leave a Reply

 
