Making a Pink Sateen Ball Gown, 1860’s Inspired, Part Four

Here it is, the final post about my lacy 19th century confection! If you haven’t already, definitely check out the first few posts about this project. They can be found here, here, and here. They will make this post a lot easier to follow!

The final thing I had to make for my dress were bows. I didn’t have enough material left over to make them as large and frilly as I wanted, but they still turned out okay! The first step was cutting out the rectangles…

DSC_5378

Then the slightly longer rectangles were trimmed so the sides ended in points.

DSC_5811

I didn’t have very much lace left over, so I ended up trimming these pieces (which will be the tails) with the offcuts from cutting the lace to be more narrow. Not ideal but better than nothing!

DSC_5812

And what little lace I had left went onto the rectangles that make up the bows. Since only one side will be visible I decided to only sew lace onto half of each rectangle.

DSC_5810After it was sewn on I ironed the edges inward. Now this is where I should have hand sewed the edges down to finish them nicely.

DSC_5813

But I didn’t do that because I was feeling lazy, so instead I used strips of fusible interfacing to keep the edges down. Not my best work, and I kind of regret not taking a few hours to sew these properly, but I had been working on this project for soo long at this point and saving an hour of time was too tempting to resist.

DSC_5814

I gathered the tails down with two rows of stitching that are an inch apart.

DSC_5816

The rectangles for the bows were folded in half, then sewn together and gathered down in the same way.

DSC_5818

Then I pleated the bows to make the centers smaller.

DSC_5822

Look at all of them!

DSC_5823

The tails were tacked onto the backs.

DSC_5824

Then I cut much smaller rectangles out which will make up the centers of the bows. The edges of these were ironed inward and finished with interfacing (does that even count as finishing?). To make them a bit prettier I sewed on bits of alencon lace trim.

DSC_5825

All finished! I love bows, they are cute.

DSC_5826

Somewhere along the way I finished sewing on the scalloped panels, which left the skirt looking like this.

DSC_7492

Then I trimmed twelve inches of fabric off the back of the skirt, since there was a big gab between the scalloped panels there that didn’t look good. I finished the raw edge of the back panels with lace tape, which was sewn on by hand since dragging this skirt through my sewing machine is really difficult (it weighs eight pounds!).

I also sewed up the back seam (this time I did use my machine) leaving the top ten inches open to make it easy to get on and off.

DSC_7508

And now it was time for attaching the bows.

DSC_7510

There was still a slight gap between the scalloped panels, but nothing a bit of lace and a bow can’t fix.

DSC_7511

Here is a close up of it before the bow.

DSC_7513

Tah dah! I used a bit of the leftover chantilly lace and sewed it between the panels. Then slapped a bow over it and it’s perfect!

DSC_7514

I cut out the waistband from the skirt offcuts, then fused interfacing into it to keep it smooth. The edges were all turned inward by a half inch.

DSC_7516

I sewed it on with a half inch seam allowance.

DSC_7517

Then folded it over the raw edge and pinned the other side to the line of stitching. This means the bulk of the skirt will be in the waistband, but since the skirt was pleated (as opposed to being gathered) it doesn’t look too bad.

DSC_7519

This edge was whip stitched down.

DSC_7520

The skirt closed with four hooks and bars.

DSC_7534

Quick fitting to make sure everything looks okay. The waistband was perfect, the only problem was a bit of visible petticoat the back seam where it was left open. To fix that I sewed in a modesty panel and the skirt was finished!

DSC_7529

DSC_7532

The skirt needing a modesty panel reminded me to add one to the bodice. Which reminded me that I still hadn’t finished sequining the bodice, nor had I fixed the gap in lace on the back of it. Luckily, much like with the skirt, a bow fixed the gap in lace and upped it’s cuteness factor!

DSC_7523

DSC_7544

And that’s it for the dress! But are we done yet? No. Of course not.
DSC_7561

For accessories I bought a necklace (which probably isn’t accurate) from forever 21, and a pair of lacy shoes from Funtusma (definitely not accurate). Unfortunately the petticoat issue forced me to wear higher heels with this skirt instead of my pretty boots but i’m determined to wear them with a different costume someday.

The final thing I needed was a headpiece. In the 1860’s evening caps or headbands were the most popular. I made mine a combination of the two. It’s made from interfacing strips with wire sewn into the edges. It’s covered with bias tape made from the sateen and has a chantilly lace ruffle across the back.

DSC_5986

I covered the top with alencon lace trim that was further embellished with sequins, faux pearls, and pink seed beads – the same beads used to detail the bodice and sleeves.

DSC_5983

Then I used some fake flowers and metal beads to add volume to the sides.

DSC_5987

Now it looked weird, which means it’s perfect because these headpieces were pretty weird.

DSC_5988

And that’s actually it! Every piece is complete (and fits)! Which means it’s time for some worn photos. I’d love to get more photos of this in a better environment, because (shockingly) it against a white backdrop with dim lighting doesn’t really do it justice. But for now these will have to do!

Angela Clayton Evening Gown 1860 -7891

Angela Clayton Evening Gown 1860 -7876

Angela Clayton Evening Gown 1860 -7872

Angela Clayton Evening Gown 1860 -7901

Angela Clayton Evening Gown 1860 -7872

Angela Clayton Evening Gown 1860 -7892

Angela Clayton Evening Gown 1860 -

Angela Clayton Evening Gown 1860 -7878

Bonus: My dress compared to the one that inspired it.

Untitled-2

And compared to the sketch I made before starting – it isn’t too far off!

Untitled-2ed

That’s it for today – thanks for reading!

35 thoughts on “Making a Pink Sateen Ball Gown, 1860’s Inspired, Part Four

  1. Dee Kegley says:

    I absolutely love your Christmas skirt w/ the lights. I can’t seem to forget about that wonderful piece. I would love to have one.
    I always look forward to seeing your designs.

  2. kelleygaston@cox.net says:

    Angela you did it again! What an amazing dress. You look beeutiful!!! I can’t wait to see your next creation! 🙂 Thanks for sharing all of your projects!

  3. Ellie says:

    This is simply stunning! It’s so fluffy, pink and lacy – all the things I adore in a gown; it’s probably my favourite of all the things you’ve made, though I do love everything that you make!

  4. evilestmedievalist says:

    I’ve been following your creations since I saw your Merida cosplay on Tumblr, and I have to say, this had got to be one of the most phenomenal things you’ve ever created! It’s so sumptuously feminine and conveys the period so well. It heavily reminds me of Tchaikovsky’s ballets and the costumes often produced for those productions. So breathtaking!

  5. Gabrielle says:

    Can I just say that your version is much more beautiful than the one you took inspiration from? 😀 I ABSOLUTELY ADORE this dress, it’s stunning and looks perfect on you! I wish I could make myself one of theese one day!

  6. Mary T says:

    My jaw is dropped!!!! This is the most beautiful dress! I love how it reflects the elegance and soft and the beauty and all the god stuff. “What a lady”! I’m in l❤️❤️❤️❤️Ve!!!! You are so talented!

  7. Emma says:

    Hi Angela! This dress is absolutley beautiful! I’m planning too sew a dress with a similar skirt, do you have an idea of how much fabric you used for it (approximately)?

    //Emma

  8. Julie Johnson-Taylor says:

    You said your petticoat collapsed, I was told in the 50s when they collapsed they would starch them with liquid starch to make them stiffer. That might help.

Leave a comment